I deleted my social media apps.

So this morning I decided to delete all of my social media apps off my phone, not WordPress and Pinterest of course. I was thinking why do I even have this? I honestly don’t even need this, so why bother having it? This led me to more thinking. What is the point of it? Really? Nowadays social media is used as a mechanism to make other people think your life is better than it actually is. But why? Is it for reassurance? Is it to help your ego? I’m sure it’s used for this purpose in one form or another, whether it’s to impress someone or for pity.

I feel like people no longer live in the moment, they need to make sure they snap every single minute of a concert instead of taking it all in. They need to post when their toddler is fully potty trained or the fact that he’s in the hospital with pneumonia. Or the fact that they got a new house or a new car or even purse. I believe it’s okay to be proud of your accomplishments, I may or may not have posted about some new things I’ve gotten in the past, but that’s not to say that I was trying to impress anyone.

I apologize for getting distracted and steering away from the real reason I actually deleted my apps, keep in mind I did not delete the accounts so I still have access if I really want to. I did this more as a test to myself, I want to be able to go out and enjoy my life without having to show the world. I will say, I am the person that forgets to take pictures because I’m having a ton of fun and then regret that I didn’t, so it’s not like I’m in constant need of posting on social media. It’s more of a bad habit that I’m trying to get away from. I catch myself opening up Twitter or Instagram about 2 minutes after I’ve already scrolled through the entire feed only to see the exact same thing I saw 2 minutes ago. I don’t want that anymore. The honest reason I didn’t completely delete the accounts was because I do have old friends and family, even, that I’m not necessarily close to but I want to make sure they’re still okay. I also have a ton of photos and would love to keep all those memories in the correct order.

I wanted to delete my apps because I feel like it has caused me to become so self conscious of myself seeing all these photoshopped images of beautiful women. I had never been so self conscious of myself until recently. I can’t even take a picture of myself, that I feel good about, without using a filter. It’s actually quite amazing how much we depend on technology to alter our looks, whether it be a full blown photoshop job or just a Snapchat filter. It’s a false reality. I don’t want to feel like I have to post anything just because someone else is and I, especially, don’t want to care about what my friends are posting. I hurt my own feelings just scrolling through my newsfeeds and I’m pretty sure that I’m not the only one who feels that way. I just no longer want to depend on social media for reassurance about myself.

 

Leave a Reply

