Losing Weight (not a New Year’s resolution)

download

google.com

Let me start off by saying that I hope everyone had a safe and happy New Years and that I hope your year is full of happiness and prosperity, I know I hope mine is 😉 .

So it may seem like a cliche that I’m talking about fitness and nutrition at the start of a brand new year but for me it’s more coincidental. I have been going to the gym for about a year or so almost consecutively. I go to the gym almost every day for one and a half to two hours. I have cardio, leg , and arms and back days. I prefer leg days though, aka JLo Bootayyyy. Ever since I had my son I have wanted to become healthier for him, I want him to have me around as long as he can. Plus, I needed to get in shape for my wedding.

Moving on. I have noticed a difference in my body. I feel like my body is in better shape and looks much better than it did pre-pregnancy, which is good right? (rhetorical question). I will say that at the beginning of my weight-loss journey I saw more results. I was eating healthy every day, drinking as much water as I could and exercising. In the back of my mind I know that eating well is going to give me the best results, after all, abs are made in the kitchen. After my wedding, I had a break from going to the gym for about two months. At first I felt great, I hardly ate out and didn’t crave sweets as much but towards the end of the two months I started to notice a difference. I craved more junk food, ice cream especially, Hot Cheetos, chocolate, Oreo’s, you name it I wanted it, and I ate it and I noticed. I have never been a skinny girl. I have always been on the thicker side and I would be okay with that if I wasn’t trying to better myself. Don’t get me wrong I believe every BODY is beautiful but I also believe that everybody should treat their body beautifully by eating right and exercising.

 

Well today I was talking to my sister and we were joking about someone’s weight loss as if they cheated in order to lose so much weight, code word joking, and my sister told me to ask her what her secret was since I have been going to the gym for a year and there hadn’t been much of a difference. I laughed it off not thinking about it but what she said was true. I know many people who have lost so much weight quickly, granted– every body is different therefor I should not compare myself but it’s hard. A similar comment came from my husband when he said that he noticed a difference in my body but that I will never be where I want to due to my eating habits. It is the cold hard truth. I do envy the women who can lose weight so quickly because I know it is much harder for me to. With my current eating habits, my going to the gym is just maintaining I’m not losing or gaining and if I start to see the gain I do only as much to lose it. I am not happy where I am at physically and mentally. I don’t want to feel like I HAVE to lose weight or that I HAVE to be skinny and the only way to do that is a lifestyle change.

So today I went grocery shopping and am hoping to commit to this oh so very much wanted healthy lifestyle. I am also going to remind myself why I started this lifestyle and that in order to achieve my JLo body I need to continue.

Leave a Reply

